Films & Permits

Permits for Individual Marin Cities

Film Permit Applications for Marin Cities

Permit contacts and downloadable applications are listed here by the city name in Marin County. All permits must be accompanied with a completed SSP form
 
Filming in Corte Madera max crew size of 12
For the Corte Madera Film Permit Application:
CorteMaderaFilmShootApp.pdf

For assistance with filming in Corte Madera, contact:
Brian Hernandez, Film Coordinator/Director of Parks & Recreation
Corte Madera Parks & Recreation
Phone: 415-927-5072 - Town Hall: 415-927-5086
Email: bhernandez@tcmMail.org 


Filming in Fairfax max crew size of 12
For assistance with filming in Fairfax, contact:
Michelle Gardner, Deputy Town Clerk
Town of Fairfax
142 Bolinas Road
Fairfax, CA 94930
Phone: 415-458-2343 - Town Hall 415-453-1584
Email: mgardner@townoffairfax.org
Fairfax Police Department
Phone: 415-453-5330 


Filming in Larkspur max crew size of 12
For the Larkspur Film Permit Application
LarkspurFilmShootApp.pdf
Permit filing requirement: five business days

For assistance with filming in Larkspur, contact:
Shannon O'Hare
City of Larkspur
Phone: 415-496-2401 - Town Hall: 927-5110
Email: sohare@cityoflarkspur.org

Filming in Mill Valley max crew size of 12
For the Mill Valley Film Permit Application and Business License Forms:
Mill Valley Police Dept for Special Events
Permit Applications
Road Closures
Commercial Filming Fees
Lt. Jacqueline Graf-Reis
jgraf@cityofmillvalley.org
Phone: 415-389-4100 x 4114

For assistance with filming in Mill Valley parks and Depot Square:
Regarding Authorization & Rates:
Annie Bricca, Facility Supervisor of Parks & Recreation
Mill Valley Parks & Recreation Department
Phone: 415-383-1370 
Email: abricca@cityofmillvalley.org

Public Works Officer who reviews permits, evaluates traffic/parking/etc:
Dante Rovero, Public Works
Phone: 415-388-4033 
Email: drovero@cityofmillvalley.org

Filming in Novato
For the Novato Film Permit Application:
Novato Hold Harmless Agreement
Film/Photo Permit-City of Novato

For assistance with filming in Novato, contact:
Sgt. Nick Frey
nfrey@novato.org
Novato Police Department, 909 Machin Ave.
Phone: 415-899-7027 - Town Hall: 415-899-8900

Filming in Ross max crew size of 12
For the Ross Film Permit Application:
Filming Motion Pictures, Still Pictures or Television
Ross Town Hall
Linda Lopez, Town Clerk
llopez@townofross.org
31 Sir Francis Drake Boulevard (at the corner of Lagunitas Road)
Ross, CA  94957
Phone: 415-453-1453 ext. 105 - Town Hall: 415-453-8287
www.townofross.org


Filming in San Anselmo max crew size of 12
For the San Anselmo Photo Shoot/Film Permit Application:
San AnselmoFiim-PhotoShtApp.pdf  
Permit filing requirement: five business days

For assistance with filming in San Anselmo, contact:
Town of San Anselmo/Public Works Dept.
525 San Anselmo Ave.
San Anselmo, CA 94960
Phone: 415-258-4646 - Town Hall: 415-258-4600
Email: permits@townofsananselmo.org


Filming in San Rafael  
Due to the ongoing Covid-19 pandemic and in the interest of public health and safety, the City is temporarily suspending the issuance of film permits until further notice.
This includes all outdoor/indoor projects on city property as well as in private homes.

As an alternative, 32TEN Studios has an indoor studio, an outdoor backlot, and production rooms for any type of project.
Leave contact and project information for a quick callback here

City of San Rafael contact:
Susan Andrade-Wax, Library and Recreation Director
Phone: 415-485-3340
Email: Susan.AndradeWax@cityofsanrafael.org


Filming in the unincorporated town of Stinson max crew size of 12 
Marin County Department of Public Works
Land Development Division
3501 Civic Center Drive, Room 304
San Rafael, CA 94913
Phone: (415) 473-6530
Fax: (415) 473-3799
Email: epapplication@marincounty.org
For Marin County Public Works, Land Development website:http://www.marincounty.org/depts/pw/divisions/land-use


Filming in West Marin max crew size of 12
Off-Road areas of Fairfax/Bolinas Road: Marin Municipal Water District, Laurie Offenbach (415) 945-1180 or Email: loffenbach@marinwater.org
Please note: The following unincorporated areas of West Marin will need the required permits through Marin County's Department of Public Works with a ranger on site. These following contacts have requested to be notified only of any filming in their areas, but do not issue permits. Click here for all County of Marin Film Permit Regulations

Point Reyes Station: Public Works Dept (415) 499-6528 or Land Dev/Engineer (415) 499-3755
Bolinas Road and Fairfax/Bolinas Road: Bolinas Fire Chief Anita Brown (415) 868-1566: BCPUD, Jennifer Blackman (415) 868-1224
Marshall: Lori Kyle (510) 666-0069 (East Shore Planning Group)
Nicasio: Rocky Shone (415) 662-2016 rockyandmarcy@aol.com (Nicasio Landowners Assn. Pres.)
Tomales: Bert Crews, (415) 497-9303 Email: brcrews@me.com 
Other Areas: Filming in Kent Woodlands, contact Jeanne Williams (415) 721-7429 jwilliams@kwpoa.com
Filming in the Sleepy Hollow area of Greensburg and Whiteplains Streets, contact Carolyn Goodman (415) 250-6264 carolyn@goodmanmarketing.com
Check with the Department of Public Works staff on all special requirements.

Meet Your Film Liaison

photo

deborah

Deborah Albre
Film Liaison and Creative Services

Marin Film Resource Office
1 Mitchell Blvd., STE B
San Rafael, CA 94903
film@visitmarin.org
Direct Cell: 415-297-1611