Night of Nights - Morse Code Comes Alive at Point Reyes National Seashore

image

Date: Thursday, July 12, 2018

Time: 3:00 pm

Phone: (415) 990-7090 or Richard Dillman at +1 415-663-8982

In the annual "Night of Nights", historic Morse code radio station KPH returns to the air in commemoration of the closing of commercial Morse operation in the USA.

Frequency and reception report information for all stations appear at http://www.radiomarine.org/.

KPH, the ex-RCA coast station located north of San Francisco, returns to the air for commemorative broadcasts on July 12 at 5:01 pm PDT (13 July at 0001 GMT). On July 12, 1999, the last commercial Morse transmission in the US. was believed to have been broadcast at 5 pm PDT (13 July at 0000 GMT). Transmissions are expected to continue until at least midnight PDT (0700 GMT).

Members of the public are invited to visit the receiving station for this event. Further information may be found on the Maritime Radio Historical Society website at http://www.radiomarine.org/ or by contacting Richard Dillman at +1 415-663-8982 or by email.

Additional Location or Other Information

The station is located at 17400 Sir Francis Drake Boulevard and is on the route to the Point Reyes lighthouse. Watch for a cypress lined driveway on the right about a mile past the entry to Coast Guard station NMC.