Point Reyes National Seashore - Historic Morse Code Radio Station Returns to the Air

image

Date: Wednesday, July 12, 2017

Time: Doors open at 3:00pm, first transmission 5:01pm PDT (0001GMT)

Phone: (415) 464-5100 or (415) 464-5135

In the annual "Night of Nights", historic Morse code radio station KPH returns to the air in commemoration of the closing of commercial Morse operation in the USA.

Frequency and reception report information for all stations appear at the Maritime Radio Historical Society website.

KPH, the ex-RCA coast station located north of San Francisco, returns to the air for commemorative broadcasts every year on July 12 at 5:01 pm PDT (13 July at 0001 GMT). On July 12, 1999, the last commercial Morse transmission in the U.S. was thought to have been broadcast at 5 pm PDT (13 July at 0000 GMT). Transmissions are expected to continue until at least midnight PDT (0700 GMT).

Members of the public are invited to visit the receiving station for this event. 

Refreshments Served. Photographs Encouraged. Tours  Given.

Special Notes

Location: RCA receiving station, 17400 Sir Francis Drake Blvd., Point Reyes National Seashore. Refreshments Served. Photographs Encouraged. Tours Given.